The day I tried to be Korean

I am unfortunately not a very patient person when it comes to food. That being said, it was INCREDIBLY difficult for me to wait the 24 hours (at minimum) for my kimchi to ferment instead of eating half the jar immediately and just sticking the rest in the fridge, probably to be finished off the next day.

Prep two days ago consisted of chopping up the napa, massaging it with kosher salt, and letting it sit in a colander for 24 hours. This does NOT include the 24 hours I had to wait while it ferments! Ugh. I don’t know how I have made it this far. Shane went over to the sink and asks why there is a mug sitting on a plate inside a colander. I explain to him in a giddy fit that I am making kimchi! “It is like I never left home!” He laments, throwing his hands in the air. “Kimchi stinking up the house, my college diet hijacked by these vegetable things!”

On my way home to taste-test the fermented goodness, I must stop by the community gardens. We have a few things planted in the small garden space at home, but this allows me to have a bigger space to fill up with all kinds of goodies! I planted radishes, lettuce, spinach, onions, and peas just a few days ago so I do not expect anything to show yet. All cold-hearty crops of course, being in the cold zone in the middle of the Colorado Rockies that we are 😦

Alas!

I have made it! 48 hours after beginning this project, and I finally get to taste kimchi for the first time. Yes, I said it. THE FIRST TIME. I just cannot justify spending $5 on a jar of kimchi when I see them making it fairly regularly, and with such ease, on my Korean Dramas. Yes, I also said that. I am quite obsessed with most Korean dramas :/ Don’t knock ’em ’til you try ’em! I laugh out loud during almost every single episode, and my eyes brim with tears. They are cinematic masterpieces!

Anywho, we will get back to the kimchi.

 

The Verdict:

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

Looks pretty good, eh?!

I probably should have been a bit more patient. It could definitely use a bit more fermenting (but what do I know!). The flavor is nice, but I maybe could have added a bit of sugar for sweetness, and perhaps next time I will omit the fish sauce. There is a distinct fishy flavor that I am pretty sure is not supposed to be there.. The salt is good as well as the spice. Honestly, I really enjoy eating the green onions in there!

Well, first time for everything! It will still be devoured. Methinks it is time to cook up some nice sticky rice and have a Korean party of 1. Thanks for listening 🙂

 

Ciao!

One thought on “The day I tried to be Korean

Leave a Reply

